About Nature's Way Carolina Dogs

My photo
Seymour, Tennessee, United States
Welcome to our site about Naturally Reared Carolina Dogs! Carolina Dogs are a relatively new, rare breed recognized by the UKC & ARBA, and are quite possibly America's own indigenous wild dog. CDs make wonderful companions, athletes, hunters, and bedwarmers! Natural Rearing is the philosophy wherein we raise our dogs and puppies by following the 8 Laws of Health, employing Biologically Appropriate Raw Food and no toxic chemicals on, in or around our dogs. We have found this way of life fosters balance, health and longevity in our beloved companions and for our puppies, we welcome homes that have a very similar philosophy about dog rearing, or wish to learn. Check us out, follow us and share us in other places!!! YouTube@ "Susan NaturesWayCarolina Dogs NaturesWayPets" and FaceBook @ https://www.facebook.com/mycarolinadog on Twitter @https://twitter.com/NaturesWayCDs Thank you so much for visiting our site, feel free to leave us a comment or send us an email! susanlewelling@yahoo.com or text 865-293-2858

Saturday, January 19, 2013

Pregnancy Timeline for 2013 litter

Jensen Canine Pregnancy Calander
Pregnancy Calendar for Dogs Date: Sat 19 Jan 2013 Sire: BC Tennessee Whiskey CooterBug Dam: PR Banbury’s Tennessee Daisy Jane Breeder: Susan Lewelling Mon 7 Jan 2013 First day of mating.
48 hours after the first mating the bitch should be mated again. Subsequent matings occurring over a period of time enhance the chances of fertilaziton taking place.
The spermatozoa migrate up through the cervix.
Tue 8 Jan 2013 Sperm travel searching for a mature ripened eggs. Tue 8 Jan 2013 -
Wed 9 Jan 2013
Spermatozoa reach the eggs in the oviducts. Wed 9 Jan 2013 -
Thu 10 Jan 2013
Fertilisation occurs in the oviducts which lead from the ovaries to the uterus. Thu 10 Jan 2013 -
Sat 12 Jan 2013
Fertilised eggs migrate down the oviducts and into the uterine horns.
The migration continue to enable even spacing of the embryos.
During this migration the eggs will grow into a blastocystes.
Fri 18 Jan 2013 -
Sun 20 Jan 2013
The blastocystes implant in the wall of the uterus. Fri 18 Jan 2013 -
Fri 1 Feb 2013
The blastocystes will grow into an embryos.
During the next two weeks the important organs will develop.
Mon 21 Jan 2013 -
Mon 28 Jan 2013
Dams nipples begin to pink enlarge.
The fur on the dams belly and around the nipples may become thinner.
Sun 27 Jan 2013 -
Sun 3 Feb 2013
Morning sickness might occur due to hormonal changes or stretching and distension of the uterus. Dam may appear a bit apathetic. She may be off her feed for a while and vomit from time to time.
Feeding the dam several meals spaced throughout the day might help.
Your veterinarian may want to prescribe a drug to relax the uterus.
Fri 1 Feb 2013 -
Tue 5 Feb 2013
An experienced person (a breeder or a veterinarian) can tell by careful palpation whether the dam is pregnant.
It's now the best time to do this because the embryos are walnut-sized now and easy to count.
Mon 4 Feb 2013 Start to increase the dams food ration.
Don't overfeed, excessive weight gain should be avoided.
The foetuses are now and are fully developed miniature dogs.
Sun 10 Feb 2013 The Dams abdomen starts to get larger. Wed 20 Feb 2013 It's very easy now to feel the puppies, counting them might be a bit more difficult. Sat 23 Feb 2013 -
Sun 3 Mar 2013
Dam begins to spend a lot more time in self-grooming.
Her breasts become even more swollen.
She may become a bit restlessness and begin to search for a suitable place to have her puppies.
Mon 25 Feb 2013 The dam might lose her appetite during this period. Her abdomen can be crowded with puppies.
It is better to feed several smaller meals spaced throughout the day.
You can easily detect abdominal movement now.
Mon 25 Feb 2013 -
Tue 12 Mar 2013
Nipples and vulva should be gently cleaned with warm water, you might want to trim the hairs surrounding the nipples, to allow easier access for the puppies to suck. Thu 7 Mar 2013 -
Sun 10 Mar 2013
Milky fluid may be expressed from the nipples. Fri 8 Mar 2013 You might want to start taking the dams rectal temperature each morning and evening. Mon 11 Mar 2013 Twelve to 24 hours before she is due to deliver, the dams rectal temperature may drop from 101 to 98 degrees.
Clear discharge from the vulva might occur.
Tue 12 Mar 2013 Expected date of whelp. Of course this is just an average. Whelping may take place from the 59th to the 65th day. Puppies born before the 58th day will probably be too young to survive.

No comments:

Post a Comment